Tags

, , , , , , ,

1466rsThis week I made Carnitas Tacos for me and my husband and I came up with some interesting ideas for what to add to them. To my mouth’s delight, my interesting ideas worked out. One of the ideas was to include roasted grapes. Yes, roasted grapes! And instead of cooking them with olive oil, I cooked them with organic unfiltered apple cider vinegar. It gave them an added apple flavor and a bit of tart that mixed with the sweetness really well. I don’t have any specific amounts for you to use for this. All you need to know are the steps and you can decide how much or how little of each item you want to use. When it comes to the olive oil I used very little, just enough to coat things.

1463rsWhat I used:

Fully Cooked Traditional Carnitas from Trader Joe’s
Red Pitted Table Grapes
Organic Yellow Squash
Sweet Peppers
Homegrown White Onion
Organic Garlic Cloves
Green Onions used from the garden
Organic Carrots
Serrano Salsa
Avocado
Minced Garlic

You’ll also need: Olive Oil, Unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar, Sage, Cumin, Chili Powder, Pepper

Preheat oven at 425.

The first thing I did before anything else was cook the grapes since they taste really good at room temperature. Put them in a pan and coat them with a small amount of apple cider vinegar. Cook to the consistency you prefer, about 10 to 15 minutes.

While the grapes are cooking cut the carrots into semi-large sections and slice the sweet peppers. Place them in a single layer on a roasting pan. You can put aluminum foil over the pan for easy clean up after. Coat the carrots and peppers with olive oil then sprinkle pepper, sage and/or savory over them. When the grapes are done and put in a bowl to cool off cook the veggies in oven for  15 – 18 minutes. If there’s room on the pan or if you have room in the oven for an additional pan you can cook the squash in the oven too, however, I cooked my squash on a skillet with a little olive oil. Season the squash to your liking.

Once the veggies are roasting in the oven chop the white onion and the garlic and shred up the carnitas with a fork. Put all three in a skillet on low to medium heat, mixing often. Add a little olive oil and sprinkle on the Cumin, Chili Powder, and Pepper. I used quite a bit of seasoning. Onion powder is also okay to use too and any other seasonings you fancy. Cook until the flavors are blended and the onions are soft. You can add a little chicken broth to avoid the carnitas from getting dry and add some more flavor, but it’s only optional and not needed.

1458rsOnce the food is pretty much ready, finely chop an avocado, and mix it with salsa of your choice [the Serrano Salsa at Trader Joe’s is super good] and minced garlic [we had a small jar of minced garlic on hand, but if you need to mince your garlic make sure to do it during the same time you are chopping up cloves for the carnitas]. You can also add fresh squeezed lime juice.

1465rsYou can put it all into a small whole wheat tortilla or you can keep the carrots and squash on the side. Add the chopped green onions and enjoy.

The grapes tasted awesome with the pork. I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with how my ideas turned out.

1471rsI eat grapes in a lot of things – mixed with Greek yogurt or cottage cheese, in salads, and now with pork! In an upcoming Wednesday Eats I’m going to make a recipe I found on Pinterest with Sweet Potatoes, Goat Cheese and Roasted Grapes, as part of my food adventure with grapes.

Happy Eating!

MaryAnne

