Tags

, , , ,

Today I’m going to share a super simple and healthy recipe. It’s my go to meal when I have fresh tomatoes and cucumbers from the garden in the summer. It is flavorful, full of different textures and so satisfying. The quinoa, cheese and olives make it feel hearty, but the veggies help to lighten it and make it fresh. I love the combination. And the dressing! That is what really makes the dish yummy. Annie’s did all the hard work for us!

image

1 cup uncooked quinoa (I used red)
1 whole cucumber
about a dozen or so cherry tomatoes, more or less depending on your preference and their size
1/2 an 8 ounce block of feta…. so 4 ounces
a handful of pitted kalamata olives
Annie’s Goddess dressing

image

Cook your quinoa according to package directions. It’s typically cooked just like rice. While it is simmering away, dice your cucumber and feta and halve your tomatoes and olives. Remember to get the pitted kind. I don’t know why olives are ever sold with their pits. It’s a total pain get those suckers out! (Yes, I’ll admit that I made this mistake, even though I knew better.) Also always get feta in a block! It truly is so much better than the pre crumbled kind. It’s less dry and much more flavorful. Trust me, I’ve had a lot of feta.

Once everything has been chopped and the quinoa has cooled, combine everything in a large bowl and add the dressing. The amount is definitely a personal preference sort of thing. Personally, I go a little crazy and use about half a bottle. But this could be a bit much for others. Finally, serve yourself a dish, grab a glass of lemonade and head outside to enjoy under the summer sun!

imageHappy Eating!

– Sara

