Tags

, , , ,

IMG_9784 I made this recipe for my parents and my grandmother when we had a dinner + scrabble night at my dad’s house last week. With it I made grilled Salmon and green beans on the side. They were intrigued by the unusual grouping of goat cheese and roasted grapes with baked sweet potatoes. I’ve been really into trying out recipes with roasted grapes lately and another I want to try in the future is a whole wheat pie using roasted grapes cooked with apple cider vinegar. Using the vinegar gives the grapes the flavor of cooked cherries and that made me think they’d taste really good in a pie using a whole wheat pie crust.

Thanks to The Wicked Noodle who posted this recipe on Pinterest, I was able to find a unique take on a sweet potato recipe using roasted grapes. The original recipe is here. I followed the recipe exactly and my family was very impressed with the result. The only thing I did differently was cook the grapes with apple cider vinegar, but you can use whatever sauce or oil you want.

Other ideas to try: When mixing the contents of the sweet potatoes mix in caramelized onions. Make a balsamic reduction and drizzle it over the top of the finished sweet potatoes.

For the salmon I had the oven at 425 degrees and lined a pan with aluminum foil. Make sure to line the pan with the grapes too. With the fillets waiting in the pan I coated them with creamy Italian dressing [I used Newman’s Own] then added my seasonings. I like Sage on fish and Savory is good too. Cayenne pepper is good if you like a bit of heat. I always use Italian seasoning as well and lastly I used pepper. Then I put the salmon in the oven to coke for 15 – 18 minutes. You can cook the grapes at the same time as the salmon, while the sweet potatoes are cooling.

Check out the link to the original recipe to get full instructions on how to put together the sweet potatoes and get them to look as cool as they do in these pictures.

IMG_9779 If you like goat cheese a lot you’ll like using all of it. If you don’t care for such a strong taste, you’ll want to use less. Perhaps just omit putting the remainder on top. Happy Eating!

MaryAnne

